Friday, April 09, 2010

No Jesus, Know Peace

Maybe the dudes in Wintersleep sensed that I was talking about them, because they have just announced a North American tour (with Matt Pond PA) that will include a June 24 appearance at the EARL in Atlanta. Meet me at the merch table.

Also recently announced: No Great Lost, an anthology of Kevin Dunn's recordings from 1979 to 1985. Kevin is an Atlanta guitarist and former member of the Fans (arguably the first Atlanta new wave band). He produced the "Rock Lobster" single for the B-52's, and the "Cool/Dub" single for Pylon. His own music was recently described as "the missing link between Brian Eno circa Tiger Mountain, and XTC circa Drums and Wires". No Great Lost will be released on May 18 by Casa Nueva Industries.

In other new release news, keep an ear open for the solo debut single by Magic Dick Cheney, "I Started a War (and Everyone Lost)".

Thursday, April 08, 2010

No Future, Know Clutter

Another real new Fall album, Your Future Our Clutter, will be released on April 26 by Domino Records. It includes a cover of "Funnel of Love", a song that I blogged about here. A track-by-track description of YFOC is available at The Quietus. A vinyl single with a non-LP version of the song "Bury" will be released on Record Store Day.

A Balloon Called Moaning, the 8 song EP by The Joy Formidable, remains tied with YFOC for worst title of 2010. The cover is ugly too, but the band's music is beautiful. Black Bell Records will release it in the US this May 4th (on CD and vinyl), and The Joy Formidable will perform on the East Coast in May. Details here.

Freedy Johnston recently visited Daytrotter, and he played several of his new songs as well as "Bad Reputation" (not a Joan Jett cover).

The Figgs have announced the May 11 release of a new album, The Man Who Fights Himself. The ten songs will include the recent single "Casino Hayes". The tour starts May 15 in NYC, following an April tour in support of Graham Parker and his new album, Imaginary Television.

The next Wintersleep album,
New Inheritors, will be released on May 18. Welcome to the Night Sky, the last record by this Canadian band, was one of my favorites of 2008, and I stand by that assessment. That is all.

New Inheritors (download or listen below)